## A BRIEF HISTORY OF The Kiwi Club Trophies

In **1961** an Awards Committee was appointed by National President, Boots Johnson Hogate.

The Awards Committee recommended two special awards be presented during the **1962** Convention, the 10<sup>th</sup> anniversary of The Kiwi Club.

The first award presented was a loving cup and given to the Tulsa Chapter for their efforts in raising \$1000 to help with the hospital expenses of a fellow member and a certificate for the chapter titled, "To a Small Chapter with a Big Heart".

The second award were silver charms and certificates to the eight ladies on the original organizing committee who met in New York in the 40's to spearhead the national organization. They were Ann Gale Darcy, Mozelle Lowry Bishop, Evelyn Leedy McCormick, Eileen McDermott Ross, Jean McKiel Wells, Skip Hogan Grewe, Bertie Cole Clark and Pat Green Benson.

In **1963** a totara wood Kiwi bird was presented to TKC by Kenneth McLauchlan of Auckland, NZ. It was suggested by the National Board this trophy be presented to a chapter which has been outstanding in some capacity. The trophy was retired in 2004 as it became too damaged to repair.

In **1964**, C.R. Smith, President of American Airlines, asked Kiwi Counselor Kay Hanson to purchase three silver trophies as a gift to TKC. The Advisory board members recommended the three silver trophies be awarded on a competitive basis at the discretion of the National Board and Advisors and not necessarily at each convention. The three awards:

- > The President's Cup Principal Award. Given by the National President at his/her discretion.
- Memorial Award Tray Named after the first stewardess killed in the line of duty. Later named the Perla Gasparini Award who died in 1936. Later it was found that Ada Huckeby was the first to be killed in the line of duty in 1934. With this discovery, it became The Memorial Award.
- **Kay Hansen Cup** Honor for the inspiration she has given for the survival of TKC.

**The Kiwi Award** - Initiated in **1974**, this award is granted to honor and recognize an individual Kiwi or organization by a chapter. The award is for continuous – not less than five years – dedication, assistance, support, or promotion of a local Kiwi chapter or The Kiwi Club. More than one-chapter member or member at large may be submitted for recognition, as well as any organization fitting the requirements.

In **1978 The Kiwi Award of Excellence** was presented, for the first time, to the Chicago Chapter for their continuing service to Park Lawn Hospital. This award is given to recognize a chapter for its continual dedication and support of The Kiwi Club and the chapter's local community. (Not given every term)

## A BRIEF HISTORY OF The Kiwi Club Trophies

In **1982** the Dallas Chapter presented a Kiwi Bird on a block of marble and was given the name **The Kiwi Club Award** to honor all Kiwis. This was later named **The Virginia Woodby Conrad Award** after the first National President of TKC.

In **1982** The Kiwi Club newsletter (in **1983** it was renamed The **Kaleidoscope**) was re-started, and in **1984** The **Blue Pencil Award** was given by the Kaleidoscope Editors. It is given for the best newsletter during the previous two years (convention to convention). An original painting by **Mary Richter Thrasher** is given.

In **1984**, it was recommended an award be given to the chapter with the greatest increase in membership. This award was first presented in **1986** and is **The Millie Alford Membership Award**.

In **2006**, **The Polly Toll Goodman Award** was introduced. Its purpose was to honor Past National President **Polly Toll Goodman**, who has set the epitome example of outstanding, loyal service and leadership to TKC. The award was conceived to give an exceptional Kiwi recognition for services to The Kiwi Club. This award is not presented every term. .

The cost of shipping the trophies and repairing them became very costly and in **2007**, at the recommendation of the National Board, it was decided to retire all the trophies and present certificates instead.

The original Trophies have been taken out of storage, cleaned up, and were on display in Oklahoma City at the Opening Day Luncheon, **May 4, 2018**. The Trophies now are in safe storage.

In **2022**, the Kiwi Club awards were narrowed down to the following awards to be given out and announce at Convention:

The President's Cup (chosen by the current Kiwi President) The Kiwi Award of Excellence The Polly Toll Goodman Award (this award is not presented every term) The Kay Hansen Award The Kiwi Award of Merit The Memorial Award The Blue Pencil Award (Winner chosen by the Kaleidoscope Editor) The Kiwi Award (individuals, given at any time during the term but announced at Convention)

All of the trophies are housed with Sam Gooch 2020-2022 President. All trophies are to be on display if requested at each convention.

The original base for the President's cup is full and the last name added on this base was Janet Kraven, OKC. Janet requested to keep the full base with her award until it is needed at a future date. Paperwork was secured so that Janet's estate would return the original base to The Kiwi Club at the time of her passing.